FIXED: Palm Centro (SprintPCS) GPS Connection

Forum for questions and problems regarding PathAway GPS 4 SE for Palm OS

Moderator: Scott

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

FIXED: Palm Centro (SprintPCS) GPS Connection

Postby CharlieK » Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:17 pm

I have both a Treo 650 and a Palm Centro from Sprint. The Treo 650 works fine with my Socket bluetooth GPS device, however the Pathaway on teh Centro cannot connect.

When I try connect I get "No GPS Device Found" "Err:779"

I have tested the GPS connection on the Centro using BTSerialPro and I have verified that the Centro DOES receive the data.

Does anyone have Pathaway working on the Centro with bluetooth GPS?

Is it possible that I need a newer bluetooth GPS device?

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

Additional info on GPS text

Postby CharlieK » Thu Dec 06, 2007 2:10 pm

This is a snip of the data detected by BTSerialPro on the Centro from the GPS:

Received 127 bytes:
$GPRMC,090217.00,A,3942.48656,N,10458.59059,W,0.003,5.50,061207,,,A*7D
$GPVTG,5.50,T,,M,0.003,N,0.006,K,A*38
$GPGGA,090217.00
Received 127 bytes:
,3942.48656,N,10458.59059,W,1,4,1.64,1615.8,M,-21.0,M,,*6C
$GPGSA,A,2,20,31,01,16,,,,,,,,,1.92,1.64,1.00*0D
$GPGSV,3,1,12,20,

Still not working through Pathaway :(

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

More Info on Centro testing with Bluetooth GPS

Postby CharlieK » Fri Dec 07, 2007 12:30 am

I loaded an old copy of Handmap on my Centro. It did successfully connect to the GPS and located the correct position on the Handmap map. It appears that Pathaway v4 is not supported on the Centro - at least not the 11/27/2007 release. I am going to revert to an older version of Pathaway and try again. I will post my findings.

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:05 am

What settings are you using in the PathAway GPS Configuration dialog?
Have you tried this on the latest 4.00.76 ?

relgin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:12 am

Postby relgin » Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:23 am

Hello,

I just downloaded the trial version 4.00.76 for my Treo 755p and got the same 779 error when I tried to start my GlobalSat BT-359.

I did a search on this Forum and found another post that found a solution but no one answered his question. http://pathaway.com/forum/viewtopic.php ... hlight=779

I got my Treo 755p working by using the choice below the Bluetooth choice. There are three blocks below the Bluetooth choice. The first one of the three worked for me.

Looks like a description is missing for those three choices.

Hope this helps.

Rich

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

Pathaway on Centro

Postby CharlieK » Tue Dec 11, 2007 10:16 am

Hi,

Thanks Rich for sending me the PM. I had tried that idea (from the link - using the second square under the port drop down) however it didn't fix the issue.

I have now tried under both 4.0.0.20 and 4.0.0.76, neither works with the Socket 7 and I also purchased a new Navibe and that GPS does not work either (with both v20 and v76).

Both GPS units work on the Treo 650 and both GPS units work using Handmap on the Centro, so I can only deduce that it is an issue with Pathaway on the Centro.

My settings on the GPS configuration screen are:

Protocol: NMEA
Port: Bluetooth (and also tried second square)
Baud: 4800
Auto detect: Off (also tried on)

Advanced:
Elevation Correction: None
Timer Comm: Yes
Disconnect if No Response after 60 seconds: yes
Parity: N
Bits: 8
Stop: 1
Buffer Size: 12288kb

With these setting I get "No GPSDevice Found: Err:779" after clicking "Connect" and selecting the GPS in the "Discovery Results" dialog.

relgin
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 11, 2007 9:12 am

Postby relgin » Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:04 am

Charliek,

In your last post you said you tried the second square under Bluetooth.

Did you try all three squares ? Like I said with my Treo 755p which is the same as the Centro the first square under Bluetooth worked for me.

Would be nice to know what the three squares mean.

Rich

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

Palm Centro (SprintPCS) GPS Connection

Postby CharlieK » Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:28 am

FYI, I decided to do a hard reset on the centro and reinstall 4.0.0.76 on a clean copy of the OS, still not working.

CharlieK
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2007 1:11 pm

Palm Centro (SprintPCS) GPS Connection

Postby CharlieK » Wed Dec 12, 2007 9:06 am

Solution:

After doing a hard reset and reinstalling v4.0.0.76, I selected the FIRST square in the "Port" drop down (instead of bluetooth). The Centro now works with Pathaway!

Thanks Rich for your suggestion!

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Tue Jan 08, 2008 3:49 am

The new version 4.00.78 (currently a pre-release at http://pathaway.com/prerelease4/ ) will now display these extra Port IDs as proper text. The Centro should be set to Port rfcn.

fishhead
Posts: 7
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2007 10:14 pm

Palm Centro GPS Connection

Postby fishhead » Sat Mar 15, 2008 1:16 pm

I tried rfcn and it worked, but PathAway do no save the GPS Receiver.
I must choose the bluetooth device every time I start PathAway. :(
fishhead

swifty99
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Apr 30, 2006 2:43 pm

Postby swifty99 » Sun May 18, 2008 7:14 am

Same thing here. The connection is working now, but I have to choose the receiver every time. Will there be a fix?

swifty

User avatar
RaNo
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue May 20, 2008 11:57 pm
Location: Krakow, Poland
Contact:

Postby RaNo » Wed May 21, 2008 12:08 am

swifty99 wrote:Same thing here. The connection is working now, but I have to choose the receiver every time. Will there be a fix?

swifty


I got the same problem with PathAway on my Treo 680. Because I'm also software developer (at RNS::) and I'm currently also writing a GPS application for Palm OS, by chance I found the fix for this problem.

In short, the developer of PathAway should read this thread:
http://news.palmos.com/read/messages?id=154096
To learn that fixing PathAway is the matter of changing 2 bytes of the code.

For the time being (until PathAway is fixed), I prepared a hack-fix for all of you:
www.ranosoft.net/gps/

User avatar
Scott
Site Admin
Posts: 1033
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2005 8:49 pm
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Postby Scott » Wed May 21, 2008 6:20 pm

A build with this fix has been posted at http://pathaway.com/prerelease4/PWPalmOS.html


Return to “PathAway GPS 4 SE for Palm OS - Support”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest