Tool to make PathAway Maps from Google Maps

Share your PathAway information and experiences with others

Moderators: Scott, PathAway

j&b
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:45 am

Tool to make PathAway Maps from Google Maps

Postby j&b » Tue Jun 27, 2006 5:04 am

Hi, there..

Finally, project of new map tools for PathAway was released.
http://www.iippo.net/jb/mapaway/
This is free, easy and convinient to make maps of USA, EU, Japan and Canada.

J&B
Attachments
Image1.jpg
Image1.jpg (284.81 KiB) Viewed 53476 times

User avatar
Anders
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden & Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Postby Anders » Wed Jun 28, 2006 8:53 pm

Try it, it works great! :lol:

fergal_om
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat May 27, 2006 4:52 pm

Postby fergal_om » Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:25 pm

tried it, it don't work so great for me.

when i click on get maps from internet, i get the following error

"Cannot access network. This action is not available"

Does the program have to be installed in a certain directory to work???

F

User avatar
Anders
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden & Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Postby Anders » Fri Jun 30, 2006 2:55 pm

I just tried it again - without problem.
Check if you have a firewall that will not allow the program to access internet?

j&b
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jun 27, 2006 4:45 am

Postby j&b » Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:13 pm

fergal_om wrote:tried it, it don't work so great for me.

when i click on get maps from internet, i get the following error

"Cannot access network. This action is not available"

Does the program have to be installed in a certain directory to work???

F


to get maps from internet, program check up network connections when it starts.

if it failed, program regards your machine as disconnected, so please check your network status again.

program uses HTTP connections like general web browser, so firewall may not be the reason.

User avatar
Anders
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden & Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Postby Anders » Fri Jun 30, 2006 11:41 pm

If you have a program like Norton Internet Security it can block internet connections per program. When you first start a program a pop-up box appears and ask how you want this program to handle internet connections. Options are: Allways allow, Allow once, Block once, Allways block. If you have made the wrong decision you have to open NIS and change/remove this item.

Dodger
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:54 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Dodger » Sat Jul 01, 2006 4:19 am

I've been using the MapAway program quite a bit & find it to be an almost PERFECT companion to PathAway.

The only thing I would like to see is integration of a WMS (Web Map Server) client.

Currently, MapAway can only connect to the GoogleMaps server for it's maps. This is great for street and highway maps, but there are thousands of free WMS servers out there that will allow you to create and download almost every kind of map imaginable, including topographical maps for hiking & geocaching.

The Government of Canada provides very detailed topographical maps for the entire country free of charge from their WMS server. The Dept. of Natural Resources (Canada) also has a WMS server that's free for public use. I've been downloading WMS maps but calibrating them can be tedious.

I would LOVE it if MapAWAY had the ability to connect to a WMS server of our choice, then allowed us to select the appropriate layers for the map. (WMS maps allow you to decide what feature you want to appear on your map - You can turn on or off dozens of map features - Show/hide roads ,power lines, dams, place names, railroad tracks, trails, etc.) and then generate a PathAway .PRC file from that map.

WMS maps are accessed through http, just like with google maps, but I believe the interface and specifications for the protocol are different. The WMS specifications are available from a number of sites. (A Google search for "WMS specifications" brings up plenty)

If the programmers of MapAway decide to implement a WMS client, I think their program will become one of the most valuable GPS tools next to PathAway itself!

Well Done!

Dodger

User avatar
abecdd
Posts: 11
Joined: Fri May 20, 2005 3:46 pm
Location: Germany

Postby abecdd » Tue Jul 11, 2006 12:28 pm

Hi J&B,

thanks for starting the development of a free and usable map making utility for Pathaway!

Unfortunately I have the same problem like fergal_om. I think it's the proxy server that cannot be configured in MapAway. Can you provide a proxy support?

Leigh
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:16 pm

Postby Leigh » Wed Jul 12, 2006 12:42 am

Hi,

Any ideas why when I try to run the .exe I get an error 'borlndmm.dll cannot be found'?

Cheers

Dodger
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:54 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Dodger » Wed Jul 12, 2006 1:11 am

I had the same issue when I initially installed it Leigh. I believe they may have missed including that DLL in the installer.

I just did a Google search for the dll, downloaded it & installed it in C:\windows\system & all was well.

Dodger
Last edited by Dodger on Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:33 am, edited 1 time in total.

Dodger
Posts: 80
Joined: Tue Mar 14, 2006 2:54 am
Location: Ontario, Canada

Postby Dodger » Wed Jul 12, 2006 4:32 am

My apologies - I didn't realize they had the attachment mod here in the forums! :-)

Attached is the missing DLL.

Dodger
Attachments
borlndmm.zip
DLL required for MapAway.
(12.46 KiB) Downloaded 3487 times

Leigh
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Mar 28, 2006 4:16 pm

Thanks

Postby Leigh » Wed Jul 12, 2006 9:12 pm

Thanks Dodger,

That did the trick, now up and running - marvelous!

Leigh

OttawaGolf
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:44 pm
Contact:

Postby OttawaGolf » Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:25 pm

MapAWay 1.2.0 Build 65

3. What's New in This Build
- Support Satellite/Hybrid modes.

I cannot find how to import a Google Earth (or Google maps) Satelite image. How is it done?

User avatar
Anders
Posts: 54
Joined: Sun Oct 02, 2005 4:26 pm
Location: Sweden & Republica Dominicana
Contact:

Postby Anders » Thu Aug 31, 2006 5:09 pm

OttawaGolf wrote:MapAWay 1.2.0 Build 65

3. What's New in This Build
- Support Satellite/Hybrid modes.

I cannot find how to import a Google Earth (or Google maps) Satelite image. How is it done?


In map mode you press 1 for Map, 2 for Satellite and 3 for Hybrid. Then you click on "Get maps from the internet"

OttawaGolf
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 9:44 pm
Contact:

Postby OttawaGolf » Fri Sep 01, 2006 12:04 am

Thanks. That's it. I wonder why that's not documented anywhere.

The raw google images are too washed out on the palm. I'd like to pump up the contrast and colours in the google satelite images since that works well to improve satelite jpgs for pathatway. Is it possible to extract / enhance / re-import the images?


Return to “General Information Share”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests