Swiss Grid

Enter general ideas or complaints to be considered for future versions.

Moderators: Scott, PathAway

chmaps
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:01 pm

Swiss Grid

Postby chmaps » Sat Jan 19, 2008 5:22 pm

I am a frequent Pathaway user and miss the possibility to display coordinates in Swiss Grid very much.

As Pathaway already handles several national grids, I guess it would be quite
easy to add another?

Swiss Grid was designed to be easy to read and unambiguous (positive only,
SN <300.000 EW>300.000, a position is e.g. N 91662, O 617045).

Of cause, there might be few customers registered in Switzerland, but with the Alpes, topographic maps of Switzerland are for sure used widely with Pathaway.

And a final motive: Swiss topographic maps are considered to be the best in the world (may say that, I am not Swiss). Pathaway should support them also with there original grid :-)
Why best?
The manual engraving of a single map sheet from a mountain region takes
5000 working hours...

jp
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:05 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Postby jp » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:26 am


jp
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:05 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Postby jp » Wed Mar 19, 2008 1:30 am


hartmut
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 24, 2005 10:00 pm

Postby hartmut » Wed Mar 19, 2008 12:45 pm


jp
Posts: 49
Joined: Tue Feb 27, 2007 7:05 pm
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Postby jp » Fri Mar 21, 2008 3:51 pm

Hi Hartmut:

Thanks for the tip but it will not do. I already have the maps and I want to put them in Pathaway. I have troubles doing this because it seems that the projection used by the swiss topographic maps is different than what Pathwaway takes.

Besides, once the maps on pathaway I would like to see them with the swiss grid.

Thanks anyhow.

JP


Return to “General Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests